Home » Product FAQ

Product FAQ

Most taps have a small device (a regulator) which screws into the end of the tap spout. Replace this with our aerator & regulator (its’ techie name!) and air will be introduced into the water (aerating). This reduces the amount of water used and produces a soft touch and seemingly voluminous non-splash stream.

Video Guide

Regulator with limeRegulators are used in taps and have been introduced to meet regulation code requirements with particular reference to water and energy saving. A large number of existing taps already have a flow regulator but the likelihood is that they will not be of sufficient quality to meet todays’ standards. Our regulators & aerators are manufactured to the highest European standards by R.C.Mannesman GmbH and most are suitable for low water pressures and hard water areas.

Video Guide

A tap spout is the very end of the tap where the water comes out. Most taps will have something fitted to the end of the spout (unless it is a very old tap) - it might come in the form of a a black plastic insert or a metal regulator. If you're unsure, feel free to send us a photo and we'll do our best to check for you.

 

A monobloc or single spout tap is where the hot and cold water come out of the same single spout.

Video Guide

A back flow preventer is a safety valve which permits water to only flow in one direction and therefore prevents unwanted backflow of water in the opposite direction. Protection of potable (drinking) water against backflow contamination is part of the National Plumbing Code. The best example is a hand held shower over a bath – if you drop the shower head into bath water when the shower is working and you do not have a backflow prevention device fitted, then the dirty water could be sucked back up into your water system (back-siphonage). Our integral backflow prevention device ensures that this will not happen – see diagram below. This is particularly important for commercial applications, i.e. hotels.

Back Flow Prevention device: showing open valve

The water pressure exceeds the spring tension; the plunger is lifted off its seat allowing water to flow through the valve.

Backflow Prevention device: showing closed conditions

 

If the pressure downstream of the valve increases (back pressure conditions) or if the system pressure upstream of the valve decreases (back siphonage conditions) causing the flow to reverse direction, the spring loaded plunger closes and prevents back flow from occurring.

 

It could not be simpler…Place a 1 litre container under your washbasin tap spout and turn on the cold water to full for 5 seconds, if your container is filled over ½ a litre in 5 seconds then you have a flow rate in excess of 6 litres per minute and you will immediately benefit from using Every Drop Is Precious products. It is exactly the same test for your shower and kitchen tap, just point the shower head or kitchen tap into your container and turn on full.

 

Yes – to maximize your savings you will need to check your bathroom, cloakroom taps, showers and kitchen & utility taps – but it really doesn’t take very long at all!

Yes! No plumbers or plumbing skills required! All packs are simple to install – we have designed complete packs, to make it easier for you! Have a look at our videos. In most instances you can unscrew your existing regulator by hand but if tight simply use a pair of pliers and a tea towel to protect the tap – it really is very easy! All packs include easy step-by-step fitting illustrations.

By using our kitchen “Auto Save/Quick Fill” aerator/regulator, you have the flexibility to select a higher volume of water as and when required. The tap will turn on in “Auto Save” mode for washing delicate salad leaves / soft fruit or rinsing crockery, and “Quick Fill” is available at the push of a button, for filling kettles or containers. This product also prevents unsightly and messy splashing with the added benefit of being easy clean, so if your tap spout normally builds up limescale all you have to do is simply wipe it away!

Sometimes they look really small if you are unsure give us a call or send us an email with a picture and we can help you. Sadly, if there isn't anything fitted to the end of your tap then in order to save water, energy and money you will have to change your taps.

Yes, the likelihood is that they will, BUT we still recommend you carry out the test, as the flow rates could still be VERY high and you may be surprised!

The aerator & regulator comes complete with an adaptor to ensure it will fit BOTH male and female taps (24mm). 24mm is the standard width, but we also offer a 20mm aerator & regulator (male) for smaller tap spouts, but please do let us know if you have any problems. If your taps do NOT have a round spout (square or oval) then our aerators & regulators will not fit them.

No, this is not recommended because the temporary shut off operation could force the water back up into the electric box, which is VERY dangerous.

Yes, our products are suitable for low pressure applications.

You will still save money on your energy bill, as using less water results in heating less water. Did you know that up to 25% of your heating bills comes from heating water? Not forgetting of course by using less water you are improving your green credentials!

The majority of people believe that their water bill will be higher if they switch to a water meter – generally, this is not the case! Water companies are never going to under estimate your water bill! It’s actually very straight forward to organise and you aren’t normally charged for it (unless you choose to have the water meter positioned differently to where the water board will want to position it). Also, whilst you remain residing at the property if you find your bills are not any cheaper within the first year of installation then you can request to have the water meter uninstalled. We cannot be held responsible for any deviation to this policy which individual water authorities may have .i.e. for a couple living in a 2 bedroom house who’s monthly bill totals £50 per month, with a water meter installed this should lower your bill significantly to even as much as half this amount. Contact your local water board, listed below. BUT don’t forget your bills can be even lower when you fit Every Drop Is Precious products – why waste your money?!

Yes of course! As long as you keep the old products you can simply change them back again when its time to move on and fit them into your next home.

Albion Water * www.albionwater.co.uk

Anglian Water Group (includes Hartlepool Water) www.anglianwater.co.uk

Bristol Water plc www.bristolwater.co.uk

Cambridge Water plc www.cambridge-water.co.uk

Cholderton & District Water Company *www.choldertonwater.co.uk

Dee Valley Water plc www.deevalleywater.co.uk

Dwr Cymru Welsh Waterwww.dwrcymru.co.uk

Island Water Authorities (Guernsey Water, Jersey Water, Council of the Isles of Scilly & Isle of Man Water Authority) *www.jerseywater.je

Northern Ireland Water www.niwater.com

Northumbrian Water Group plc (includes Essex & Suffolk Water) www.nwl.co.uk www.eswater.co.uk

Portsmouth Water Ltd www.portsmouthwater.co.uk

Scottish Water www.scottishwater.co.uk

Sembcorp Bournemouth Water www.sembcorpbw.co.uk

Severn Trent plc www.severntrent.co.uk

South East Water Ltd www.southeastwater.co.uk

South Staffordshire Water plc www.south-staffs-water.co.uk

South West Water Ltd (Pennon Group plc) www.southwestwater.co.uk

Southern Water www.southernwater.co.uk

Sutton and East Surrey Water plc www.waterplc.com

Thames Water Ltd www.thameswater.co.uk

United Utilities www.unitedutilities.com

Veolia Water East Ltd (formerly Tendring Hundred Water) www.veoliawater.co.uk/east

Veolia Water Southeast Ltd (formerly Folkestone and Dover Water) www.veoliawater.co.uk/southeast

Veolia Water Three Valleys (formerly Three Valleys Water) www.veoliawater.co.uk/central

Wessex Water Services Ltd www.wessexwater.co.uk

Yorkshire Water Services Ltd (Kelda Group Ltd) www.yorkshirewater.com* – not a member of Water UK